• Velferðarráðuneytið
    Ministry of Welfare

The Minister of Health has today issued a regulation on the further merger of health institutions. According to it, institutions will be united in three health districts. This marks the completion of the merger of health institutions in all the country's health districts, identically Act on Health Services No. 40 of 2007 assume

  • The Vestfjörður Health Foundation and the Patreksfjörður Health Foundation will be merged into the Vestfjörður Health Foundation.
  • The health institutions in Blönduós, Sauðárkrók, Fjallabyggð, the health centers in Dalvík and Akureyri and the Þingeyinga Health Institute will be merged into the Norðurland Health Institute.
  • The health institutions of the Southeast, South and the Vestmanna Islands will be merged into the Health Institute of the South.

The mergers will take effect on October 1st, when new CEOs will take over the combined organizations. The positions of the three CEOs will be advertised as open for applications, and the application deadline is August 1.

The goal of merging health care institutions is to strengthen operational and management units, increase safety in communities with good health care, and make better use of funds. With mergers, decision-making increasingly moves from ministries to local people.

In the run-up to the mergers, the future directors together with the employees of the ministry will consult with the local councilors in the respective areas.